Point Blank Range Inc
CHL's- Texas Law mandates that the Concealed Handgun License (CHL) Course be at least 10 hrs in length to include the range qualification. We start the class at 8AM and generally finish around 6-7PM . It is a long Saturday but at the end of the day the only thing that you need to do is submit the paperwoork we provide you. You first want to visit https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/chl/ to start the Application Process(remember you have 90 days to sign up and take your course after starting your application)
100$(Range fee and lunch Provided)
CHL Renewals- If you are within 6 months of your CHL expiring or your licensed expired no more than 1 year ago AND you have received your renewal packet from the state you are eligible.
What to expect- You will need ear & eye protection, Please bring your handgun (.32 Cal Minimum) and 100 rounds of ammunition, 50 are required for qualification the extra 50 are for those that fail to qualify the first time. YOU MAY BRING YOUR OWN AMMO AS LONG AS IT IS U.S. MADE WITH BRASS CASINGS, NO RELOADS.
Handgun Rentals and ammo Available
Start Application process:
The following Questions are listed below. For additional questions see DPS's FAQ link above in the helpful links section:
• Do I need to own a gun to take your class?
• Why should I get a CHL, isn't it legal for me to have a handgun in my car?
• What if I am Active Duty Military or just moved to Texas, do I still qualify for a TX CHL?
• Can I carry a different gun than the one I qualify with?
• Is there a test at the end of the class?
• What is the Fee Schedule to get my Concealed Handgun License?
• What do I do after the class?
• I was convicted of a DWI 6 years ago, am I still eligible to get a license?
• My friend and I are going to attend the class together, can he/she use my gun?
Do I need to own a gun to take your class?
If you haven't purchased a handgun yet, or you want to qualify on a Semi-Automatic instead of a revolver you can rent one of our handguns which will include ammunition for 25$.
Why should I get a CHL, isn't it legal for me to have a handgun in my car?
While it is legal to have a handgun in your car while "Traveling" you can only have the handgun in your car, outside of the car you can't carry. A gun not on your immediate person does you no good, so if you know that you will only be attacked inside your car you are fine! Otherwise get a CHL and have the ability to carry the gun on your person.
What if I am Active Duty Military or just moved to Texas, do I still qualify for a TX CHL?
Whether you are Active Duty stationed in TX or just moved here 2 weeks ago you are still eligible. IT IS NO LONGER A REQUIREMENT TO BE A TEXAS RESIDENT!
Can I carry a different gun than the one I qualify with?
The only restriction on the gun you qualify with vs. the one you carry is if your license is for a Revolver only. If you qualify with a Semi-Auto than you can carry either a Revolver or Semi-Auto with no problems. The handgun that you use for qualification purposes must be at least a .32 caliber or larger, but this is only for the qualification. You are not restricted to caliber size when you carry your handgun, so if you prefer a little .22 caliber pistol or a Desert Eagle .50 caliber hand cannon it is up to you.
Is there a test at the end of the class?
Yes there is a written test as well as a handgun qualification test. The intent of the Texas Legislature was not to make the CHL test extremely difficult to pass. Instead they wanted to ensure that the students have a good understanding of the law and that they are familiar with a handgun and how to shoot. The written test is 50 questions in both multiple choice and true false. The range test is done on a static human shaped silhouette target with 50 rds of ammunition: 20 rounds from the 3 yard line, 20 rounds from the 7 yard line and 10 rounds from the 15 yard line.
What is the Fee Schedule to get my Concealed Handgun License?
Texas's Fee Schedule can be found at http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/RSD/CHL/documents/CHLFeeSchedule.pdf
What do I do after the class?
After completing the class, you send the provided forms to DPS and wait a few weeks for your CHL to come in. Generally will take 30 to 60 days for you to receive your license or notification that more time is needed to process your license. Generally unless you have a prior conviction that restricts you from a license or there was problem in your application (forgot to sign something) you will receive you license within 60 days.
I was convicted of a DWI 6 years ago, am I still eligible to get a license?
Yes you still qualify, but if have had a Class A or B misdemeanor conviction within the last 5 years of application date you are ineligible. check eligibility on DPS's Website at http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/RSD/CHL/faqs/index.htm
My wife/friend and I are going to attend the class together, can he/she use my gun?
Of course, but obviously you would be in two different courses of fire.
Private New CHL Class (10 hours)
$200 per person
$180 per person for 2 people
$150 per person for 3-5 people
$125 per person for 6-10 people
$100 per person for 11 or more people
Private Handgun 101(+6hrs) plus CHL (10hrs)
CHL(10hrs) plus Handgun 102 (5 hours)
$250 per person
$230 per person for 2 people
$200 per person for 3-5 people
$175 per person for 6-10 people